green abstract particlesmission joy logo

One Final Mission...

Two of the most revered global icons are on a mission to bring joy to a troubled world.

His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu joined forces one last time to share ancient wisdom and cutting edge neuroscience that shows us exactly how we can each access more JOY, no matter our circumstances. And just in time, during these dark and divided days.

holy men laughing
little boy smiling

mission: joy

Mission: JOY includes the book, the film, and the impact campaign that are all aimed at bringing the messages of the self-described ‘mischievous brothers’ to as many people as possible:
JOY is an inside job.
There are simple, scientifically proven things each of us can do to access more JOY.


Want to donate to help the message of Mission: JOY reach more people?
Give online

To give via check, wire transfer, or appreciated stock, please email our team

little girl having a good time at the pool lounging

Media Inquiries

Tell the JOY story
Media inquiries

Contact us

For all other inquiries, email our team
email us

Team joy

Peggy Callahan

Producer and Co-Director of Mission: Joy, and Impact Director

Jolene Smith

Impact producer

Taylor O'Very

production assistant

Evonne Thomas

Project Coordinator

the Film team

Directed By
Louie Psihoyos

Co-Directed By
Peggy Callahan

Produced By
Peggy Callahan, p.g.a. and Mark Monroe, p.g.a.

Executive Producers
Geralyn Dreyfous  Regina K. Scully  Orly Ravid  Susan Bauer-Wu  Rip Gellein  Paulo Lima  Connie Kemmerer  The Gael Foundation  Joni Winston  Tommee May  Jessie Creel  Louie Psihoyos  Darla Anderson  Damien De Froberville  Peggy Callahan  Mari Snyder Johnson  Shannon Oleary Joy  Jane Kachmer  Jamie Drummond  Bridgit Lombard  Ryan Gall  Pam Omidyar  Shannon Sedgwick Davis  Michael Sugar  Mpho Tutu Van Furth  Thupten Jinpa Langri  Doug Abrams

John Negropontes 

Original Music Composed By
Dominic Messinger

Edited By
Andrew Buckland  Matt Stamm  Joshua Altman  Barry O Donnell

With the generous support of

the joy braintrust:

Formidable advocates who advise, connect, accelerate, navigate, and create JOY.

Doug Abrams, Co-Author of The Book of Joy

Darla Anderson, Animation Producer at Netflix

Jessie Creel, Film Producer

Mark Daley, Communications Strategist

Jason Daley-Kennedy, Wellness Coach

Damien DeFroberville, Animation Executive

Nishan Degnarain, Economist and Environmentalist

Anne Friedman, Impact Investor and Author

Ryan Gall, Global Citizen Co-Founder

Gillian Gonda, Director for Movement Building at the Fetzer Institute

Kevin Hager, Hager Advisors

Alon Halevy, Facebook

Jane Kachmer, Strategic Consultant and Producer

Jennifer Lavin, Senior Executive Producer

Bridgit Lombard, The Lombard Group

Tommee May, Film Producer

Pat Mitchell, Editorial Director of TEDWomen

Paul Nwulu, Senior Officer of Movement Building at the Fetzer Institute

Tina Quinn, Author and Certified Leadership Coach

Orly Ravid, Founder of The Film Collaborative

Tenzin Seldon, Co-Founder and President of The Plant

Lindsay Shookus, Saturday Night Live Producer

Michael Sugar, Film Producer and Founder of Sugar 23

Recent posts

Notes to HHDL

Rita, United States

This week in the U.S., we are celebrating Thanksgiving holiday,
Learn More
Notes to HHDL

Harald, Germany

Dear Holiness,25 years ago, on the 11th of April 1997
Learn More
Joy Stories

Victoria, United States

On my usual walk, I approached the doom and gloom
Learn More
Notes to Arch

Mary, United States

Thank you for modeling such Joy, love and compassion for
Learn More
More places to find joy!

Want a Little Joy in Your Inbox?

Sign up to get some booster shots of JOY.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram